W.I.C. Services
WIC provides health education, nutritious food and other services free 
of charge to qualified Massachusetts families. Hours of operation and locations. WIC serves to safeguard the health of women, infants, and children who are at risk 
by providing nourishing foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, 
and referrals to social services and access to health care for low and moderate 
income families with children under five. WIC also sponsors breastfeeding and parent peer counselor programs. The parent 
peer counselor program helps new moms and dads develop parenting skills that will 
help them feed and care for their babies in a healthy way. The breastfeeding peer counselor program helps moms with common breastfeeding questions, provide help getting moms started, and support for the baby’s changing needs. Manual and electric breast pumps are available upon request. Both peer counselor programs can be conducted by telephone, individually at the WIC office, or in a group setting. WIC recognizes the important role that fathers, grandparents, stepparents, 
foster parents and other guardians play and encourages all to actively participate 
and apply for the benefit of their children. WIC services include: Personalized nutrition counseling and education. Immunizations screening and referrals for children. Parenting and Breast-feeding education and support. Food checks; covering healthy food items like infant formula, milk, cheese, eggs, juices, cereal, peanut butter, and dried beans and peas. Referrals to medical, dental, housing, fuel assistance and social service agencies. Health Insurance counseling. WIC serving Massachusetts residents, is designed especially for: Pregnant, postpartum, or breastfeeding women with infants up to one year old. Infants and children under the age of 5 - fathers, guardians, and foster parents 
are encouraged to apply for WIC support for their children. Those who receive TAFDC, Food Stamps, or Medicaid are automatically eligible. People with medical or nutritional needs. How do I apply? The Springfield South WIC program serves over 4100 participants in Springfield, Longmeadow, East Longmeadow, Hamden, and is now expanding to the Pine Point area. To be eligible for WIC, applicants must meet four eligibility criteria: Residency – Must live in Massachusetts. Categorical – Pregnant, breastfeeding (Up to one year postpartum), non-breastfeeding 
(up to 6 months postpartum) woman or child under age 5. Income – Household income must not exceed the current WIC income guidelines. Nutritional – All WIC participants receive a free nutrition assessment.
Who we are
Joseph DuBois WIC Director jdubois@caringhealth.org Mirdali Figueroa Assistant Director mfigueroa@caringhealth.org Joan Strycharz Senior Nutritionist jstrycharz@caringhealth.org Modjgan Grohe Nutritionist mgrohe@caringhealth.org Jessie Thompson Nutritionist jthompson@caringhealth.org Katherine Langlois Nutritionist
klanglois@caringhealth.org Caroline Seymour Nutritionist cseymour@caringhealth.org Van Luu Nutrition Assistant vluu@caringhealth.org Gladys Cornier Nutrition Assistant cornier@caringhealth.org Amelia Ramos Nutrition Assistant aramos@caringhealth.org
Make an Appointment
Find a Nutritionist

For after hours service, please call:
(413) 739-1100


Para servicio de sioue's de horas de trabajo,

por favor llame al: (413) 739-1100

 

This health center is a Health Center Program

grantee under 42 U.S.C. 254b, and a deemed

Public Health Service Employee under

42 U.S.C. 233(g)-(n).

LOCATIONS

1049 Main Street, Springfield, MA 01108

532 Sumner Avenue, Springfield, MA 01108

860 Boston Road, Springfield, MA 01119

WIC OFFICES   413.693.1029

816 Main Street, Springfield, MA 01105

532 Sumner Avenue, Springfield, MA 01108

1771 Boston Road, Springfield, MA 01129

PATIENTS

Notice of Privacy Practices

Aviso Sobre Normas De Privacidad

Notice of Patient Rights

Aviso De Derechos De Los Pacientes

413.739.1100

STAY CONNECTED

c d i

2018 Caring Health Center, Inc. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use

Privacy Policy

Sitemap

Nondiscrimination Policy